NotFair Awards


Arkley Award

The memory of much-loved artist Howard Arkley is honoured by the Arkley Award, established in 2010 by Arkley’s mother, Gwen and her late partner Frank Lewis. The aim of the prize is to acknowledge the skills of emerging artists and reflect Howard Arkley’s passion as practitioner and teacher.

“We’ve done it in memory of Howard,” said Gwen Arkley. “I feel he would have wanted to help younger artists. He won awards himself, but he was also a very generous artist, teacher and friend.”

The $5,000 non-acquisitive award is rewarded to new talent in contemporary painting and photography. Since 2021 the award is kindly sponsored by William Partners Lawyers and Botanic Wellness.

Arkley Award 2023 Winner: George Goodnow

Previous Winners:


2021 Winner: Alicia King, PSN-34,666700,68.066700, 2021


2014 Winner: Hari Ho, Monuments & Ruins: Kambuja (triptych)


2016 Winner: Isabelle de Kleine, Knowing 2016


2012 Winner: Simon Finn. (Left to Right) Marijke and Sarah Arkley, Winner, Simon Finn, Ashley Crawford, Melissa Amore and Sam Leach.


2010 Winner: Jake Walker, The Way 7, 2009


Anne Runhardt Art Award

Established in 2017, the Anne Runhardt Award was founded to uncover and enable outstanding talent within the visual arts. The $5,000 non-acquisitive award is dedicated to independent, experimental and thought-provoking art deserving of greater recognition and opportunity. All participating artists of NotFair are considered finalists of the Anne Runhardt Art Award.

The inaugural 2017 winner was Chris Henschke for his eponymous work Songs of the Phenomena (2016). A transformed nuclear reactor, a mechanical beast, feeding of fruit through electrodes, softy howling, pulsing, creating random sounds. The work was since acquired by Dark MOFO, under auspices of MOMA Hobart. The 2017 award was judged by Gareth Sansom - whose retrospective exhibition Transformer was showing at NGV

NotFair 2023 Winner: Pimpisa Tinpalit

NotFair 2021 Winner: Farnaz Dadfar
NotFair 2017 Winner: Chris Henschke


NotFair 2021 Winner: Farnaz Dadfar, The Beloved, 2021
(Bottom image, left to right) Farnaz Dadfar, Anne Runhardt


NotFair 2017 Winner: Chris Henschke, Songs of the Phenomena, 2016


The Lennox Award

A House Haunted… by Art

Ghosts, Gangsters, Artists, Actors, Authors and Musicians have all collided in this magical abode. A veritable Who’s Who of Melbourne’s cultural characters have collected, at one time or another, at a former pub, now dubbed The Lennox, at Richmond’s 208 Lennox Street.

The Lennox Award is founded to enable emerging artists to exhibit and connect at this historical venue. It offers a free exhibition with a fully catered opening night.

The award is kindly presented by Helen Bogdan. The inaugural winners in 2021 were Liss Fenwick and Ash Coates.

The Lennox Award 2023 Winners: Sis Cowey, Dominic Kavanagh and Rowan E.

Inaugural Winners: Liss Fenwick and Ash Coates

Ash Coates_ Portrait 2022. Acrylic on Linen, 56x51cm.

Ash Coates, Portrait, 2022


Liss Fenwick, Meat Tray IV, 2018

NOTFAIR 2023: 8 - 13 December |NOTFAIR 2023: 8 - 13 December |NOTFAIR 2023: 8 - 13 December |